Summer Fundraising Concert 2019

Saturday 15 June 2019 at 7.30pm

Pavel Kolesnikov (piano)

  • Haydn: Sonata in B minor Hob XVI: 32

  • Brahms: Intermezzo in E flat major, Op.117 No.1

  • Beethoven: Piano Sonata No.4 in E flat major, Op. 7


  • Brahms: Intermezzo in B flat minor, Op.117 No.2

  • Couperin, L: Suite in A major

  • Couperin, L: Pavanne in F sharp minor

  • Tchaikovsky: Rèverie interrompue, Op.40 No.12

  • Tchaikovsky: Echo rustique, Op.72 No.13

  • Tchaikovsky: Polka peu dansante, Op.51/2

  • Tchaikovsky: Dumka, Scène rustique Russe, Op.59

  • Tchaikovsky: Passé Lointain, Op.72/17

  • Brahms: Intermezzo in C sharp minor, Op.117 No.3

Siberian pianist Pavel Kolesnikov is one of classical music’s fastest-rising stars, firmly established in the leading venues of Europe and the USA. The great masters of Romantic music define this recital: Beethoven, Brahms and Tchaikovsky. Alongside are two pieces by the Baroque composer, Louis Couperin.

Following his Wigmore Hall debut in January 2014, The Telegraph gave the recital a rare five-star review and called it “one of the most memorable of such occasions London has witnessed in a while.”

Since becoming Prize Laureate of the Honens Prize for Piano in 2012, Kolesnikov has performed around the world.  Significant recital and festival appearances include Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall, Berlin’s Konzerthaus, the Louvre (Paris), Vancouver Recital Society, La Jolla Music Society, Spoleto Festival USA, Canada’s Ottawa ChamberFest and Banff Summer Festival, Plush Music Festival, and the BBC Proms.  Recent and upcoming orchestral appearances include London Philharmonic, Philharmonia Orchestra, Russia’s National Philharmonic, Orquestra Sinfônica Brasileira and Toronto Symphony Orchestra. Pavel is also a member of BBC Radio 3’s New Generation Artists for 2014 to 2016 and RCM Benjamin Britten Piano Fellow for 2015 to 2016.

A live recording of Pavel's prize-winning performances was released on the Honens label in March 2013, about which the BBC Music Magazine wrote “tremendous clarity, unfailing musicality and considerable beauty”.  His debut studio recording was released on the Hyperion label to critical acclaim, with The Sunday Times  described his playing on this all-Tchaikovsky disc as having “affection and élan”.  His current disc of the Chopin Mazurkas, released on the Hyperion label, has won worldwide critical acclaim, winning a Diapason D'Or Award in November 2016.

Pavel Kolesnikov lives in London and considers it a perfect place for himself. He is a passionate perfume collector, among rare contemporary and vintage specimens in his perfume library the oldest ones date back to the 1920s. Painting, photography and fashion are some of his main interests.

‘The world seems to be awash in brilliant young Russian pianists just now, but Pavel Kolesnikov stands apart’ BBC Music Magazine

‘Here is a poet of the keyboard’ Guardian

This concert is sponsored by the Jenny Roberts Trust in celebration of Jenny's lifelong love of music and in particular her devotion over two decades to the Leicester International Music Festival.